Machine recycling asphalt roof shingles
Sustainability

Recycled Shingles

A more sustainable shingle using recycled shingle content¹
Stay updated

Learn about asphalt shingle recycling and the RoofCycle™ Process

The GAF RoofCycle™ Process is a breakthrough, patented recycling process that diverts shingle waste from landfills and reuses it in the manufacture of new GAF shingles. Timberline HDZ® RoofCycle™ Series Shingles¹ contain approximately 7% recycled content without sacrificing any of the quality you demand from a GAF shingle.
¹ Timberline HDZ® RoofCycle™ Series shingles identify the percentage of recycled shingle content in the product near the color and barcode on the wrapper and are only available in limited quantities/areas at this time. Products without this information do not contain recycled shingle content.

Contractors removing old roof shingles

The RoofCycle in Action

 

Here’s how the RoofCycle™ Process works:

GAF is committed to Sustainable Roofing. The challenge facing the industry is that 13 million tons of shingle waste is generated per year nationwide. GAF is responding with the Roof Cycle™ Process. 90% of shingle waste collected by the Roof Cycle Program will be diverted from landfills. Shingle tear offs will be processed into component parts.

Shingle tear off

Shingle removal, sorting and transport of clean tear off (post-consumer waste)

Transfer station

Receive PCW to be collected and transported to GAF processing center

Shingle processing

PCW converted and processed into briquettes and granules

Shingle manufacturing

PCW briquettes and granules are incorporated into the manufacturing process

New shingles installed

Installation of new GAF shingles with recycled content
More than one million pounds of asphalt diverted from landfills

Track our progress!

GAF is committing more than $100 million to bring the RoofCycle™ Process to commercial scale. As it becomes more widely available, contractors will play a vital role by routing shingle tear off into the cycle and offering homeowners a more sustainable roofing shingle. Sign up for alerts on the RoofCycle™ Process and be the first to know when shingles containing recycled content are available in your area.

Be the first to know

Sign up for alerts
Roofers removing shingles

Related article: Welcome to the future of asphalt recycling

Each year in the U.S., roughly 13 million tons of asphalt material gets torn off of old roofs to make way for new asphalt shingles. Currently, only about 10% of that tear-off gets recycled for use in paving and other roadway projects. That leaves about 12 million tons of waste to get shipped to landfills each year.

Want to learn more about sustainability at GAF?

Transparency is key to sustainable buildings. Get answers to your product questions, rating systems, regional codes, and more from our sustainability partners.

Visit page

More sustainability resources

Join our RoofCycle™ Process Alerts List and never miss an update.

Add me to the list

Machine recyclant des bardeaux de toiture en asphalte
Durabilité

Bardeaux recyclés

Un bardeau plus durable utilisant un contenu de bardeau recyclé¹
Restez au fait de l’actualité

Apprenez-en plus sur le recyclage de bardeau d'asphalte et le processus RoofCycle™

Le processus RoofCycle™ de GAF est un processus de recyclage breveté innovant qui élimine les déchets de bardeau des décharges et les réutilise dans la fabrication de nouveaux bardeaux GAF. La gamme de bardeaux Timberline HDZMD RoofCycleMD¹ contient environ 7 % de contenu recyclé, sans jamais sacrifier la haute qualité que vous recherchez dans un bardeau GAF.
¹ Le contenu en bardeau recyclé présent dans la gamme de bardeaux Timberline HDZMD RoofCycleMD est indiqué près de la couleur et du code-barres sur l’emballage du produit. Actuellement, ce produit est uniquement disponible en quantité limitée et dans certaines régions. Les produits sans information ne contiennent pas de contenu de bardeau recyclé.

Des entrepreneurs retirant de vieux bardeaux de toiture

RoofCycle en action

 

Voici le fonctionnement du processus RoofCycle™ :

GAF s’engage pour des toitures durables. Aujourd’hui, 13 millions de tonnes de déchets de bardeaux sont générés chaque année au niveau national. Il s’agit d'un défi majeur que l’industrie doit relever. GAF le fait grâce au processus RoofCycleMD. 90 % des déchets de bardeaux récupérés par le programme Roof Cycle n’iront pas dans les décharges. Les bardeaux décloués seront recyclés en pièces composantes.

Déclouage de bardeau

Enlèvement, tri et transport des bardeaux décloués (déchets post-consommation)

Station de transfert

Réception de PCW et transportés au centre de transformation GAF

Traitement des bardeaux

PCW converti et traité en briquettes et en granulés.

Fabrication de bardeaux

Les briquettes et les granulés PCW sont incorporés dans le processus de fabrication

Installation de nouveaux bardeaux

Installation de nouveaux bardeaux GAF avec contenu recyclé
Plus de un million de livres d’asphalte détournés de l’enfouissement

Suivez notre progrès!

GAF dédie plus de 100 $ million afin d'amener le processus RoofCycle™ à un niveau commercial. Plus la disponibilité évoluera, plus les entrepreneurs joueront un rôle crucial dans la récupération des bardeaux décloués et leur réacheminement vers le recyclage afin d’offrir aux propriétaires des bardeaux de toiture plus durables. Inscrivez-vous aux alertes du processus RoofCycle™ et soyez le premier à être informé lorsque les bardeaux à contenu recyclé seront disponibles dans votre région.

Ne manquez aucune actualité

Inscrivez-vous aux alertes
Des entrepreneurs retirant des bardeaux

Article connexe : bienvenue au futur du recyclage d’asphalte

Chaque année, aux États-Unis, environ 13 millions de tonnes de matériel asphaltique sont déclouées de vieux toits pour faire place à de nouveaux bardeaux d'asphalte. Actuellement, seulement 10 % environ des bardeaux décloués sont recyclés pour être réutilisés dans le pavage et d'autres projets routiers. Ainsi, 12 millions de tonnes de déchets sont envoyés à la décharge chaque année.

Vous voulez en savoir plus sur la durabilité chez GAF?

La transparence est essentielle pour les bâtiments durables. Obtenez des réponses à vos questions sur les produits, les systèmes d’évaluation, les codes de région et plus, de nos partenaires en durabilité.

Visiter la page

Plus de ressources durables

Inscrivez-vous à la liste d'alerte du processus RoofCycle™ et ne manquez pas les mises à jour.

M’ajouter à la liste